Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-07-31

How I Got My Reference

Oh dear God can't someone come up with a cure for the cold? It has been almost two weeks now and even though I keep expecting to get better every day, I just feel as bad as ever.

Dammit, we didn't do anything for Sixy's birthday and now it looks as if it'll be the same story for mine. I wouldn't mind, but I've actually booked a rare night off for it :-(

At the moment, I'm just struggling into work - coming home and collapsing.

Last Friday nearly finished me off altogether. It's great having the dayshift every few weeks since you don't have to put up with all the crap from the pissheads, but the drawback is people with shopping.

Like what the hell do they expect for a lousy �2.50? Not only do I have to drive them, I have to lug all their bloody shopping into the house for them. And buggies, if they have children. I'm not a bloody pack horse, you know.

Please let me get into uni ok - I couldn't stick another year of this.

O.K. a brief explanation about the quote on my dairy banner now...Some of you may know about the hassle I had with my former employer, Cyril The Bastard as he is now known.

Cyril was one of those middle-aged men who thought they knew everything, even though he was remarkably thick and ignorant. Well, we've all got a breaking point and he really pushed me to it one day. After months of biting my tounge I finally let fly and boy did he get told a few home truths.

The finest moment was when the argument spilled out onto the street. This was the middle of a busy shopping day in Ballymena when there were plenty of people about.

Cyril's the sort who likes to keep his public persona intact - but I don't have any worries like that :-) Edited highlights include me shouting at the top of my voice: "Hey everybody, wanna hear what this asshole and his taxi company is really like", before I proceeded to wash all his dirty linen in public. I could have sold tickets.

Sometimes I do surprise myself. A couple of years ago I'd never have done anything like that, but as I get older I get less inclined to take crap from people.

And do you know something? You feel a hell of a lot better for it. I don't sit and seethe in silence anymore, sending my stress levels through the roof.

So when Cyril said I was the most evil person he'd ever met, I quickly snapped back that coming from him it was a compliment and that I could probably use it as a reference.

Which is kind of what I have done.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing