Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

11 September 2002

Remembering

On September 13 last year I wrote these words:

So am I going to do a diary entry about those tragic events? No, I'm not. Not because I don't care. I do care and I know the pain so many families on both sides of the Atlantic are suffering at the moment.

It's because I can see the pain of individuals rather than the shock of a huge death tally that I don't want to comment in depth on the issue.

This diary is written for fun, to be read by a few people. I have no right to use the pain so many people are going through as a topic for this site.

Sadly, my thoughts about hyprocrisy were proven to be correct. The people who were so quick to dash off tear-filled entries, the people who were desperate to find some link to the tragedy (my next-door neighbour's step-cousin five times removed was in New York that day....) - they were the first people to announce within a couple of days that it was time to move on, to put it all behind us.

Hypocrites. Nasty, selfish, shallow little hypocrites. Funny how those who cried the loudest were the first to condemn the action taken against Afghanistan. The UK was right to back America then and it's right to back America once again if action is needed against Iraq.

So as we reach the first anniversary of September 11, I'm placing no memorial or grand speech on this page, except to say this.

I have lived under the shadow of terrorism from the moment I was born. I know the sound a bomb makes as it explodes and I have walked through the rubble such an explosion has left,.

My sympathies are with everyone who was touched by the atrocity and my thoughts are with the many decent people I have came to know who live in the States.

What I lack in grandeur, I hope to compensate for with sincerity.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing