Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

25 March 2003

That's Me Banned From The Oscars

OK, look I'm really, really sorry about the whole booing thing at the Oscar ceremony.

Blame Nicole Kidman. She'd snuck in a half bottle of gin and we got a bit sloshed in the ladies' room while we were ordering 200 pizzas and 20 taxis to turn up at Penelope Cruz's house: "Yeah, tell the driver to honk on the horn really loudly because I'll be out back and might not hear you. Yeah, I know I'm ording the cab for 5am in the morning but it's alright because the neighbours are away at the moment"

So by the time it came round to handing out the gong for Best Documentary I was a teeny bit pie-eyed and bored as hell.

All I could think was 'what the fuck????'. I mean I'd wasted a good evening of my life reading 'The King Of The Swords' and as for those damned Elfric novels. Sheesh.

So when he started waffling on for longer than 30 seconds I started booing. Funnily enough everyone else joined in. 'Wow!' I thought. 'All these stars hate British sci-fi authors as well'.

Well shit, it was an easy mistake to make. The sound system was awful in that damned arena.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing