Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

15 April 2003

No longer afraid of Virginia Woolf

I've just had my last class as an undergraduate. Bloody hell the time flew past - it doesn't seem like five minutes ago I was shitting myself about going back and now I'm finishing off.

Notice I didn't say it was the end of my career as a student :-) With my marks from last year and my coursework marks so far I'm on course for a very good upper second degree which will be more than adequate to take me on to higher study next year. God help the English department - they're not getting rid of me after all.

I've enjoyed this course so much. I wanted an education and I've got it. I read books differently now - I can appreciate the nuances of the text and relate to what the author is saying and how they're presenting it.

Shit, I've even learned to see what was so good about Dickens even if I'll never be his biggest fan.

My biggest surprise, and delight, is that I've learned to appreciate poetry as well. My highest mark so far this year has been in the poetry module I've taken (Romantic poetry).

Oh you have no idea how good I feel about how much my mind has expanded in the past couple of years. I'm no longer afraid of Virginia Woolf.

I really couldn't say enough nice things about the tutors I've had as well - I've been very lucky.

It hasn't been easy. There's been times when I've wondered why the hell I was putting myself through it all and questioning if I was good enough to be there or just wasting my time. I won't even begin to talk about the nightmare of going from living on a decent income to struggling to cope on a student loan.

But it has all been worth it. Every single bit.

Meantime it's back to the books. The exams are in a few weeks so I'll be cramming until the last minute. Keep everything crossed for me.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing