Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

27 March 2004

Bin The Breadmakers

I fucking hate tweeness.

I fucking hate people who faff around like Dolly Daydream trying to live in a world of perfect order and calmness. Frail little creatures simpering sweetly, trying to convince us they are so wholesome and light.

Dammit, I think I just described about a third of the online diarists out there.

They're all women of course. Why the hell do women feel this need to portray themselves like a cross from Anne of Green Gables and a fairytale princess?

I mean we all project images on our sites and despite all the protests that we try to be honest, there's always a certain amount of self-editing that goes on.

So why the hell do so many women want to be viewed as cute little homemakers who simply couldn't function without their big strong men being around?

Is it some sort of new trend that we have to post about recipes and breadmaking? Did a memo go out to everyone and I missed it?

You see the reason I ask is that not only are the majority of people who keep diaries female, the readers are female. If these women were wanting to play up to the stereotypes and impress blokes, then I'd understand. I wouldn't be impressed, but I'd understand.

Chances are that if you keep a diary like that then you won't be reading here. If you've heard of me at all then you're probably too busy rushing off somewhere to condemn me as the anti-christ of the diary world to actually sit and read my entries.

However, if you are here right now, then I'd like to say this.

We don't have to play at being princesses any longer. If you play up to that image or expect other people to portray it then you're a fool. Even worse, you're a dangerous fool because you're pissing all over everything that modern women have fought so long and hard to achieve.

So hide the recipe books and please quit talking about baking your own bread because we have these marvellous places called shops and they sell the stuff all ready to go.

Then use all the spare time you now have to read a few good books - not Harlequin romances - and within six months I might be able to venture out and read sites apart from my favourites without getting the urge to gouge my eyes out.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing