Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

28 November 2005

Empty Heads And Tributes

Anyone who hasn't been living under a rock for the past week will have heard the news that George Best has died. As is usual at times like this, people are rushing to get their tributes up online - here's a quote from one journal.

I am in, like, Manchester and stuff. I travelled up yesterday afternoon and I'm here until Tuesday afternoon, visiting friends and family and the suchlike.

The first thing I did yesterday evening when I arrived was travel up to Old Trafford to leave something for George Best. The tribute there was really quite overwhelming. I want to post about it properly on Wednesday after I return, and also post some pictures that we snapped.

I know a lot of bad things are being said about Leeds fans at the moment for some of them spoiling the minute's silence at yesterday's match with Millwall, but I don't want to see them all put in the same boat. Especially not when I saw that possibly the most moving tribute I saw yesterday was written on the front of a Leeds shirt and read:-

"How I wish you had worn this shirt."

I'm going back tomorrow with my mum as she is buying some match tickets.

Touching, isn't it? Well, actually not really.

See I know the guy who posted that. We had quite a ding-dong online a few years back because he posted a couple of diary entries saying that Belfast people were scum. I'm not from Belfast but I did take exception to some Mancunian cunt making those comments, especially since he'd never set foot in Northern Ireland.

George Best was a Belfast lad born and bred - do you see my point here?

It's just one example of the celebrity death bandwagon. Someone famous dies and they immediately become saints or get the shit ripped out of them.

I'm not sure which disgusts me more. Entries like the one I quoted above or the ignorant dickheads who just have this compulsion to post about how George got what he deserved, brought it all on himself, we've got no sympathy for him, blah, blah, blah. Fair enough if they were doing it on their own sites but I've seen shit like that posted on tribute threads on messageboards.

And I think what gets me most about all of it is that there's no substance there. There's no real tributes, there's no real hatred - it's all just people flapping their gums because if they stop yammering for five moments they just might realise how empty the insides of their own heads are.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing