Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

03 November 2005

Babies

I waaaaant a baby! I soooooo want a baby!

Last Monday the Oooks popped over for a quick visit and I got to meet Baby Oook for the first time - he's ten weeks old, absolutely gorgeous and a lucky wee chap since he's got two damned fine people as parents.

I was a teeny bit worried that I might make too big of a fuss and ignore Oookarina. Fat chance. Moment she saw Dave I was the one who was forgotten about. I mean that kid adores him and I think part of the reason is Dave invented the new sport of 'indoor sledging' which involved Oookarina in a big plastic box that slid nicely up and down the tiled floor of our rather large kitchen.

Put those two together and it's hard to spot who's the six-year-old really. Dave thinks the world of Oookarina too and he maintains that Oook and I had cooked up a fiendish plot to let him spend as much time as possible with her so it would trigger off his paternal instincts.

I really don't know where he got the idea we'd be so devious, but it worked ;) Once that wedding band's on my finger it's baby-making all the way for us so we're just enjoying our last bit of child-free bliss.

It's strange that I've reached a point where I know I'd like children. During my 20s when everyone was breeding like mad the idea of being a mother horrified me. I mean I liked kids but never fancied one of my own.

Thing is I finally worked out that wanting a baby has a lot to do with finding a decent father for the kid in the first place. We may have evolved a lot but we're still slaves to our instincts. There were a couple of pretty serious relationships before I met Dave, serious enough for marriage to be considered but I never felt right about kids with either of them.

Last I ever heard of the first bloke was a few years ago, seems he was married with four kids at that point so I guess things worked out OK for him in the end.

Dave was a good friend of mine at the time I was dating the second bloke, although we'd never actually met at that point and just chatted on the phone a lot. Second bloke was OK although he'd the mother from hell and Dave pretty much fixed our break-up when he pointed out to me that the old bitch would be the grandmother of my children.

So now I'm with Dave and I'm settled and while I'm not ready to produce a tribe of little Daves and Ednas I'd be happy with one. Or maybe two.....



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing