Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Saturday, Aug. 25, 2001

Back In Black

Oh God, I never should have gotten Gold Membership (like the way I gave it caps? Just to make it look important, hee, hee).

You see the problem is it gives gold members the power to create diaryrings. I haven't got precise figures, but I think it's running at 20 different diaryrings for each diary at the moment.....

All of which is a long-winded way of saying I've started yet another diaryring. Oh yes. Well I found diaryrings for people who like blue and red, yellow and purple, but where was my favourite colour? The colour beloved by depressed teenagers everywhere? The colour Adrian Mole painted his bedroom?

Black.

Black is brilliant. Black gives an instant aura of glamour and sophistication. It always looks smart and it never goes out of date. It has been the staple colour of my wardrobe since I was fourteen.

O.K, to be honest, as I get older other colours have been creeping into my wardrobe. Mainly because I was fed-up with people thinking I only had one outfit, but really it's only a dash of colour to break up the black.

And I use it on my sites - not only because it looks good, but when we first had the internet it was through a form of WebTV and you have to have a very basic colour scheme for the site to look good on the lower resolution of a TV screen.

Now I'm gonna skip quickly onto another topic - and I assure you that I'm in no way intending any sort of really bad pun here.

I was watching the new Peugot advert - the one where they use the song 'So Strong' by Labi Siffre (forgive the attempt at spelling there). Now I was paying attention because I'd read a piece (Private Eye I think), slagging the ad for using what was the first anti-apartheid pop song to sell motor cars.

Then it hit me. It's not that they're using the song - it's that I've never seen anyone from what could be called an 'ethnic minority' driving a car in any advert from any company.

Makes you wonder doesn't it? Do car manufacturers think only white people have the money to afford the latest model?

By the way, you have no idea of how long I angsted over whether 'ethnic minority' was the right thing to say. I just take people as I find them - I don't usually puzzle over what label to slap on them.

I'll quit while I'm still relatively ahead.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing