Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

23 October 2003

BitchFest - It's A Feminist Issue

It's been a common complaint of mine that a lot of the so-called serious diary and blogging communities tend to look down their nose at BitchFest.

I'm not stupid and if it's not a downright hostile comment I have to deal with then there's a very patronising attitude.

Actually I'm kind of surprised it took so long for the penny to drop with me - even then it was Dave who had to spell it out.

"It's always men who dismiss the site and go on about it being offensive," he said. "They're threatened because it's a community with a lot of strong women in it."

I'd never thought of it like that. The whole 'it's not a nice site' thing. The criticisms because we don't censor swear words. I mean isn't one of the most common ways men send women scurrying back into their 'proper' place by saying that we're not behaving nicely?

Here's another point. The vast majority of diarists and bloggers are women and yet all the sites and groups relating to the journal community seem to be controlled by men. Am I the only one who sees something funny about that?

It's the old story. Women do all the groundwork but if you're looking for the clout then it's a man who's in control.

However, BitchFest is different. It was founded by a woman, it's maintained by women and we sure as hell don't sit around posting about recipes and knitting patterns.

We're loud, we're opinionated, we're smart, we're sassy and we don't hold back. We're also damned successful - I've been looking round other groups and boards and I can't find one relating to blogging or journal keeping that's as busy and popular as BitchFest.

So I think I'll leave the blokes to sit back and munch on their sour grapes while the rest of us get on with enjoying ourselves.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing