Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

30 October 2003

Northern Lights

Dave wandered off outside last night about 1am for a quick breath of fresh air. Both of us will wander outside at night from time to time because living in the country gives us a wonderful view of the stars at night.

A couple of minutes later he came back in and told me to come out because there was something I really had to see.

Over on the horizon there were streaks of a pale-blue/greenish light. Now I've seen photographs of the Aurora Borealis before and I know it's sometimes visible in Northern Scotland but I'd never heard of anyone being able to see it from Northern Ireland. We were pretty certain that was what we were looking at though.

After ten minutes or so we were left in no doubt about it as the colours started the change, the sky started to shimmer and streaks of light were flashing above our heads.

It was as if someone was shining coloured spotlights all over the night sky. Half the sky was covered in it while the other half was crystal clear and the stars were visible.

It was breathtaking. There really is no way to describe how I felt standing there watching this amazing display. At the climax there was a large scarlet smear directly overhead, trailing down to the blues and greens on the horizon.

The Northern Lights have been something I've always wanted to see since I first read about them when I was a child, but I never thought I'd have the chance unless I travelled abroad. I can't believe I witnessed them while standing in my own front yard.

It seems they might be back again tonight so if you're reading this in the UK it might be worth keeping an eye out after dark.

News story and picture here.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing