Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2001

Marriage Musings

And now, live on diaryland.........I'm gonna propose to Triple 6.....

Me: Hahneeeeee, can we get married?

Trips: Ok then, why?

Hmmmm, don't all be rushing out to buy the engagement presents, the official union of the Sixlys won't be taking place for quite a while, let me assure you :-)

You know it's going on three years that Trips and myself have been shacked up together - I'm so used to us being together I hadn't given it much thought; then I was talking to Andy about it on MSN last night so I started to count back.....yikes!

Still, we're not married and despite jokey proposals across the living room (I just had to explain to him what the heck I was up to), I don't think we will be for some time. Does that make me a 'loose woman'? God I hope so ~grins~.

Believe it or not, I do get some grief about 'living in sin'. This is Northern Ireland, we haven't moved on much since the early 1900s. Luckily I'm not the sort of person who gives a damn what the prudes think.

It's awful to say it, but the main reason I'm in no big rush up the aisle is that it's so much hassle to organise. Don't get me wrong - it'd be a cold day in hell before you'd see Edna prancing through a church wearing a white meringue, but still, it just seems like hassle.

At this point, I can also assure you that it'd be an even colder day in hell before I'd walk out of the local registry office in a two piece from Dorothy Perkins ~shudders at cheapo weddings~. I mean, well, weddings like that are a bit sad. It's the sort of ceremony you have when you're getting paid to provide an immigrant with a passport.

The weirdest thing about the situation is how other people react to it. I've lost count of the times I've been asked if we're getting married yet - or even worse, if we're still together! I mean, if we were hitched no-one would dream of asking me 'well, are you divorced yet?'.

There's also the problem of how I refer to Trips. Boyfriend seems a bit tame and partner sounds like we run a business together.

Fiance is out of the question since we're both a bit old-fashioned and think that you really only should get engaged when you're ready to set a wedding date.

So I'm going to set the readers of this diary a task (yes, I'm talking to you two). Try and come up with a good word to describe a live-in-lover.

The best we've managed to come up with so far is stud-muffin, but it might not go down too well in formal situations.

Points will be awarded for ingenuity and the winner will receive the grand prize of two McVitie's caramel biscuits.

In the meantime, I'm off for a pizza with my stud-muffin.

Oh yeah, before I forget.....just in case anyone is wondering what would induce us to finally do the dirty deed, one word. Children :-) I don't have a problem with the morality of our siutation, but I wouldn't bring a kid into the world out of wedlock.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing