Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

10 August 2006

Our House Is A Very Fine House

I'd have started posting in this thing again months ago but everything went up the left just after New Year when we found out we had to.....duh duh duh....move house.

We needed to move house. We'd been talking about moving house for two years because even though we loved where the house was, we didn't really like the house that much. On the other hand, moving house is something I really, really hate - not least because moving house involves moving my books and there's thousands of them.

Part of the problem is finding a new house - we rent and it's not always easy finding somewhere decent, especially when you don't want to live in a town or village. I'm a country lass at heart and Dave might have been raised in the heart of London but he's also discovered he much prefers the country too.

We lucked out though. We lucked out big time. Right now we're happily settled in the most fantastic little cottage. Well I say little, but it's massive and there's even a huge loft conversion, half of which is now housing my books.

There's a small lane down to the cottage which means we don't have to worry about Gypsy getting on to the road, original wooden floors in the front hall and living room and the place was in immaculate condition as our landlords lived here themselves before they built their own house just across the way. Best of all, our landlady has a few cats of her own - I swear I think Gypsy swung it for us because when I broached the subject of having a cat the rest of the conversation was all about how much our puss would love it here.

The garden is massive too. We've got a huge yard at the front and back and then a garden on top of it. Well, I say garden - what I mean is mini-forest. I'm not kidding, there's even a plum tree in it.

Oh, did I mention we're surrounded by hedges full of honeysuckle and wild roses? Or that we have an original iron pump in the yard, with drinkable well water? Thought I'd just add that in for anyone who's not sick with jealousy already. Yeah, I'm living in a frickin fairytale and I love it.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing