Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

26 August 2006

Not For The Easily Offended

I've tried to update but I've been in shock about the ending of Big Brother.

As usual Dave and I didn't manage to back a winner, with Aisleyne only coming third, but I had really, really hoped that Pete wouldn't get first place.

But he did.

And I'm going to have to say something that'll get me flamed to high heaven.

Big Brother was won by a retard.

There. I've done it.

Oh God I have tried to be politically correct, hell I've even tried to be tactful but every time I saw him gurning on our television screen, or spending hours sitting in a garden banging continually on a few saucepans, the word 'retarded' kept popping to the top of my mind pushing phrases like 'educationally challenged' out of the way.

Yes, I know having Tourettes' Syndrome doesn't mean you are mentally feeble and after a couple of days of viewing you quickly got used to the constant ticing.....but come on folks - the guy just wasn't right in the head. Three bloody months on our TV screens and he never managed a single coherent sentence - even Jade Goody managed to get the odd thing right.

So the whole thing has left me feeling a bit uneasy. There has been numerous articles in the press condemning Endemol for exploiting vulnerable people but nobody's really had the courage to grasp the nettle and point out that someone like Pete really shouldn't be paraded on television for our entertainment. Not because he has Tourettes' Syndrome, but because he's just not all there. A few sandwiches short of a picnic, a few vouchers short of a pop-up toaster, a few cans short of a six-pack....you get the idea.

I was going to write about how the comments on forums about how attractive he is (most of which are engendered by the fact he has a ten inch penis) seem to be a bit out of place, but I'm already squirming too much to dwell on it. Ick. Ick. Ick.

Back in the old days, Victorians could spend a fun Sunday afternoon by taking a guided tour around Bedlam asylum so they could have a good gawp at the inmates, but these days we're much more civilised and enlightened. Yes, these days we just stick them on reality television shows instead and justify it by mouthing platitudes such as 'he's doing so much good by publicising Tourettes''. However, the fact remains that the Great British Public were entertained by his freak value and eased their consciences by lifting the telephone to vote him the winner of the show and the one hundred thousand quid that went along with it.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing