Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

31 October 2003

Famous For Fifteen Seconds

"You are a fucking whore bitch lesbian who uses dog shit for toothpaste"

Not the best flame in my guestbook I've received by a long shot, but interesting because it doesn't match up with email address posted with it. No, that charming little comment was left by the parents of Tommy Wright. Boy those pesky IP numbers just get you every time, don't they?

Just for the record I most certainly am a bitch, I'm not a lesbian (although I'm not insulted to be called one) and if I were a whore then I probably would have sex on national television for the amount of money it brings in from deals with magazines and newspapers afterwards for my 'exclusive' story.

As for toothpaste, I prefer Colgate ;)

Oh, by the way, Mervyn Wright's latest rant on a forum I frequent is that he has contacted my site host (hello Andrew) and this diary is soon to be closed down due to a TOC violation. Well, that's got me shitting myself.....not.

Thing is I don't understand this attitude. If you drag your child up in such a manner that he thinks it's acceptable to have sex in front of television cameras, knowing full well that the scenes will be broadcast on national television, then why get all irate because some people think the whole thing is a bit tacky?

Believe me, I watched it and my toes curled so hard the bones almost broke. Tommy Wright just climbed on the girl, pumped away for about 30 seconds and then rolled off again. The next day she had to be given the morning after pill and was clearly emotionally distraught.

Personally I don't think the scenes should have been broadcast but then I don't think producers on the show should have allowed the dirty deed to have taken place at all.

Meantime the Wright family as a whole are determined to cash in on their sordid son's dubious 15 minutes of fame. Even though the show aired a few weeks ago they gave a two page interview to a British tabloid this week and have boasted about how yet another magazine article is due to hit the shelves on Monday.

So, on one hand this family are seeking attention and yet on the other they are seeking to silence anyone who criticises or blogs about what happened. They have threatened another blogger with legal action over remarks he posted.

Yet, the Wrights have also been obsessively posting all over the internet as well, urging people to watch the show and read the various newspaper and magazine articles they feature in!

I simply don't understand the mentality unless, of course, it's another step in this family's rampant pursuit of publicity.

Some people do get addicted to publicity and I think we've all seen the minor celebs who'll stoop to any levels to get their picture in the paper.

However, given that interest in any Big Brother programme tends to trail off a few weeks after the programme airs I have a feeling the Wrights are in for a major letdown as they fade back into the obscurity they so richly deserve.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing