Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

29 October 2003

Urges

I used to be a shop manageress you know. Seriously.

Back in my early 20s I'd the best part of a year to spare in my life and I was in a position to take a cut in salary so I spent some time working for a charity for the homeless.

I ran the shop, which was a major fundraiser as well as being the public face of the charity. It was a good experience.

It also means I'm ace at spotting a bargain in a charity shop and haggling ;)

So this is why I came home today with a new chest of drawers and a couple of decent kitchen chairs for ten quid.

Way I look at it is there's no point in buying decent furniture since we're only renting. This way we can just leave the stuff behind when we move.

On the other hand I've got an urge to get busy with a sheet of sandpaper and a can of paint. I really should stop watching home improvement shows you know.

God knows where this sudden creative urge has sprung from. Dragging out my cross stitching and buying old furniture - I mean this is all supposed to happen at springtime, isn't it?

The other creative urge I'm getting at the moment is to do a new layout for this diary. I've got a kick-ass design and I won't be able to do anything near as good.....but I've had it for a long time and I miss being able to change things around a bit.

Jesus, I must be tired. I reread this and I've used the word 'urge' in three paragraphs running. Must. Expand. Vocabularly.

Oh dear, talking of home-type things Dave has now decided to take the light fitting in the living-room apart because it's not working properly.

I think I'll just post this now before we end up with a complete power cut ;)



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing