Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Friday, Mar. 08, 2002

I'm Not Rich Enough To Rip Off

I cannot believe someone has tried to scam me! Sheesh, I've heard of similar tricks to this one, but I'll just run through the email I got today to let you all see how it works. I have censored some details:

Bear in mind this was sent to the name 'Evil Edna Sixly'.

Dear Sir, Edna quickly checks, nope, still female

First I must solicit your strictest confidence in this

transaction. This is by virtue of its nature as being

utterly confidential and 'top secret'. In other words, don't report us to our ISP...

You have been

recommended by an associate in the foreign office of

the ******** Chambers of Commerce and Industry who

assured me in confidence of your ability and

reliability to prosecute a transaction of great

magnitude involving a pending business transaction

requiring maximum confidence. Ha! Who says I can't keep a secret?

We are top officials of

the Federal Government Contract Review Panel who are

interested in importation of goods into our country

with funds which are presently trapped in *******. In

order to commence this business we solicit your

assistance to enable us transfer into your account the

said trapped funds. The source of this fund is as

follows: During the last Military Regime herein

*******, the Military Government Officials set

companies and awarded themselves contracts which were

grossly over-invoiced in various Ministries. The

present Democratic Government set up a Contract Review

Panel and we have identified a lot of inflated

contract funds which are presently floating in the

Central Bank of ******* ready for payment. However, by

virtue of our position as civil servants and members

of this panel, we cannot acquire this money in our

names. Damn, there's always a catch, isn't there? Thank God for the internet where you can always find complete suckers...

I have therefore, been delegated as a matter of

trust by my colleagues of the panel to look for an

overseas partner into whose account we would transfer

the sum of US$21,500,000.00 (TWENTY ONE MILLION, FIVE

HUNDRED THOUSAND U.S. DOLLARS) Hence we are writing

you this letter. We have agreed to share the money

thus: 1. 10% for the Account owner (you) 2. 80% for us

(The officials) 3. 10% for all expenses that would be

incurred during the course of this transaction. It is

from the 80% that we wish to commence the importation

business.Fuck me, I could tell student loans to go to hell....

Please, note that this transaction is 100%

safe and we hope to commence the transfer latest

fourteen (14) banking days from the date of the

receipt of the following information by E-mail: Your

complete bank particulars including your bank account

number, bank address,telephone and fax numbers and the

beneficiary of the account only after you have spoken

with me. The above information will enable us write

letters of claim and job description respectively.

This way we will use your company's name to apply for

payment and re-award the contract in your company's

name. We are looking forward to doing this business

with you and solicit your confidentiality in this

transaction. Pleaseacknowledge the receipt of this

letter . I will bring you into the complete picture of

this pending project when I have heard from you.So, let's get this straight...I'm to give my bank details to a complete stranger? Uh, I don't think so....

Yours faithfull

******* *********Yeah, if that's a genuine name then I'm really called Evil Edna Sixly....

There's a couple of problems with their plan, not least the fact that if they did decide to raid my bank account they probably wouldn't recoup enough to cover the amount of telephone calls they had to make to access it.

I'm a student who drives a cab at weekends to make ends meet. Still, I suppose someone might be stupid enough to fall for it.

Just bad luck that I've already read about the previous internet scams which were running and which managed to relieve some very stupid people of their money.

I'm going to print out a copy and leave it into my bank the next time I'm in - just to give them a laugh.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing