Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-03-14

I am a Voyeur

Celebrity Big Brother.... I may have slagged it off, but it has been compulsive viewing for myself and Dave this week.

For my few transatlantic friends who swing by here occassionally, I'll explain what it is. Think Big Brother, but with half a dozen minor celebrities instead of members of the public. The entire thing lasts for only a week and it's to raise money for charity.

And it is a real hoot. My only complaint is that it isn't on long enough - it's brilliant to see those perfectly honed public personas slipping every so often.

I mean, just look at Vanessa Feltz's nervous breakdown on camera. We suddenly find out she's a Prima Donna who crumbles at the first sign of rejection (when she was nominated for eviction).

Now, I'm not a Vanessa hater - I don't really have an opinion one way or another, but I do remember when she wasn't so well known and was writing a monthly column for She magazine.

Vanessa had a pretty vicious tounge in her head and never though twice about handing out criticisms of those in the public eye.

But after her recent performance she has only shown herself up as someone who can hand it out without being able to take it.

Still, she's gone back to obscurity now...that reminds me. I wonder if I have time to speed dial a few more votes to get rid of the nauseating Anthea Turner......

God, that's how boring my life is at the moment - I'm having to do diary entries on Big Brother.

Mind you I did go for a walk around the farm we live on today (dragged out by Sixy, who's full of the joys of Spring for some reason) and after spending the past three months living in the damp and darkness it was great to finally appreciate this place on a sunny day.

We've even got a bee hive! I swear I'm gonna turn into Anne of Green Gables if this keeps up.

Of course the spectre of foot and mouth disease is still hanging over all of us - I haven't really talked about that yet, so I think I'll make it the topic of my next update.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing