Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

June 15, 2001

News From The Front Line

So around 2pm today, Edna is sitting in a predominantly nationalist (ie Catholic) housing estate, waiting for her fare to come out of the house.

Then I notice that there's quite a large crowd of young fellas gathering up a few hundred yards down the street.

Then a small part of my brain which has been screaming for my attention finally gets through with the message that those guys are dressed in red, white and blue - and they have scarves wrapped around their faces.

Now since the flags hanging in the estate are all green, white and gold Irish Republican flags you can see why I decided to get offside pretty quickly.

Just as well, four squad cars and several amoured police jeeps landed up and arrested 26 guys for pulling down the tricolour flags.

I'm just surprised they managed to get out in one piece.

It's a sign of things to come during the next eight weeks as my lovely Province sinks into the mire of rioting that has marred every protestant marching season since the whole bloody Drumcree thing started.

JUST LET THEM BLOODY WALK DOWN THE BLOODY GARVAGHY ROAD. I DON'T NEED THIS SHIT EVERY YEAR.

Yes dear readers, I'd really rather not spend another year dodging burning barracades and trying to explain to people I can only take them within half a mile of their house because I'd rather not be dragged out of my car by a mob which would then proceed to set fire to it.

I wouldn't mind but I'm a fucking protestant. I'm supposed to be *on the same side*.

But, hey, as long as half a dozen people on the Garvaghy road don't have to have about 10 middle aged men in bowler hats, being led by an accordion band playing hyms, walk past their front doors, it'll all be worth it.

Did you notice my heavy use of sarcasm there? Good.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing