Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

25 July 2002

How now brown cow


Take the Purrsonality Quiz!

Alright - I couldn't resist that one - thanks June.

So what to rant about tonight? How about PEOPLE WHO CAN'T DAMNED WELL SPEAK PROPERLY?

No, I don't mean grammar. If anything I love the vernacular speech and try to reflect it in my writing - I mean people who don't pronounce or enunciate.

On quiet nights there's only one car working at my firm and since they're too tight-fisted to pay a radio operator, you're out on your own with only the mobile phone so I get to hear quite a few people as they try to book cabs.

I spend half my night going 'huh'? Teens are the worse since they try to get the whole sentence out as quickly as possible without having to take a breath.

Of course there's the accent problem as well. I may have lived in County Antrim since I was five but I'm damned if I can ever get the hang of the sodding awful local accent. Seriously, people from round here still ask me if I've only just moved in. I treasure my County Londonderry lingo :-D

Honestly, though it wouldn't be such a problem if people weren't so damned lazy that they won't move their lips enough to pronounce words properly. I dread to think about what they might be like at oral sex.........

Mind you there's one thing that annoys me slightly more....the people who talk as if they're 'posh' whenever they've just been dragged up on a common council housing estate.

Trust me - I know real 'posh' people and they do talk like they have plums in their mouths but you can also tell they have been talking like that since they first spoke. The ordinary person who tries to lose their common accent just ends up sounding strangulated and pretentious.

As for my own accent.....~shrugs~ I must say living with Dave has taken the edge off it somewhat, although when I start talking to my mum and slip into country speak he's totally lost.

Oh, and speaking of Dave, I have to wish my beloved a very happy birthday for today. Hmmmm, think that's my cue to get off to bed ;-)



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing