Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

20 March 2003

Terror Alert?

It's very strange watching television journalists standing in Kuwait trying to deliver their report while wearing a gas mask, or else having to don it half way through a report because the warning sirens have sounded.

It's even more strange that all us Brits have been put on a 'terror alert'. It was announced last night that we all have to be vigilant because there's a severely increased risk of terrorist attack. We've been told to stock up on batteries, canned food and bottled water.

Terrorist alert? I live in Northern Ireland for fuck's sake. We had thirty solid years of terrorism. I've lived through bomb blasts and riots and army actions.

I mean this is the sort of thing that happened if you nipped down to the shops on a Saturday morning.

This was a common enough scene during my childhood. It's real fun when you're driving behind an army landrover and there's several really big guns pointing out the back of it towards you.

Here's a charming snap of the local lads amusing themselves on a summer evening.

And, even in these days of alleged ceasefires, let's not forget our wonderful Minister of Education. You think your politicians are corrupt? This guy is a former Chief of Staff for the IRA. He could teach Osama and Saddam a thing or too. Now he's responsible for the teaching of our children.

So, I'm sure you'll pardon me if I don't go and widdle myself with fear because we're on a 'terror alert'...



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing