Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

21 March 2003

Supporting The War

What can I say? I support the war and I hope and pray all the troops out there make it back safe and sound.

Is it happening for the right reasons? I hope so. I hope the action is vindicated in a way which will silence the anti-war protestors. I hope those people protesting and complaining will be shown the weapons which could have harmed our countries.

However, even if that doesn't happen, I'm still firmly of the belief that Saddam Hussein needs to be removed from power. I believed that when the last Gulf War began and I've believed it ever since.

And, before anyone comments, yes there are other dictators out there who need to be removed as well. Mind you that probably won't happen. I mean, look at the trouble the British and US governments have had trying to get support from their own citizens to overthrow Saddam. It's hardly going to encourage further action against other madmen. Think about it people.

People are going to die - people have already been killed. I don't get any pleasure from seeing the body bags being carried out of the rubble but we cannot back down because of these scenes.

If we do that we are giving into the bullies. We are laying down in front of the dictators who thumb their nose at democracy and human rights.

So many people have stated they don't trust President Bush. They don't trust his reasons for entering into this conflict.

Remember, I'm not American - I'm British. I can be as cynical about politicians as anyone, but I do trust Tony Blair on this one. He's not the sort of man who acts as America's lapdog. This isn't the 80s when Margaret Thatcher was at Ronald Reagan's beck and call and we need to remember that.

I haven't agreed with all of Tony Blair's policies. I'm downright hostile to the way he has treated Northern Ireland - but I also accept he acts within his conscience and believes he is doing things for the best.

This time I do agree with him. We all should.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing