Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

06 October 2003

Opening up the Vault

OK, OK. I'll update ;)

It's weird really. I've often wondered about the numerous abandoned diaries out there but I never thought I'd almost do it myself.

You see them all the time. Diaries just left without any explanation or a forwarding url.

It's diary fatigue. I've noticed even the most dedicated writer takes breaks from time to time, or else just packs up and moves to a new url.

The thing is I've so much going on these days that updating every single day is impossible. You miss a few days and then it stretches to a couple of weeks and the longer you leave it the less you feel like coming back to it.

I dunno. This place has a bit of a stale feel to it, like a house that hasn't been lived in for a while.

Part of the problem is I keep planning to move and it's hard to maintain this place while my mind's buzzing with what I can do with moveable type and how I can learn to do a decent layout.

Speaking of layouts I've went and got myself Dreamweaver. I'm doing a site to go along with the BitchFest board and got fed up with trying to write all the code by hand.

Speaking of BitchFest....rumours of our demise have been greatly exaggerated.

I dunno. We've been running on our domain since February and the very first time the site goes down for more than ten minutes we have loony Liz Bateman spamming guestbooks and posting on usenet that she's had us shut down again....

Unfortunately since Liz seems to have the mental abilities of a stuffed pineapple she can't seem to comprehend that you can't keep your site open while the site hosts are moving it to another server because you've been having problems with loading times and the control panel.

Well we could have kept the board up....and everything that got posted during the move would have been lost anyway....

I'm telling you folks, being a board admin can be a right pain in the ass at times ;)

OK - has that broken the ice for us all again? Am I forgiven and welcomed back to the bosom of Diaryland?

Good.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing