Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

07 October 2003

Headache

Things I have learned today:

1. Don't tell your site hosts they're a bunch of usless bastards who couldn't find their backside with both hands and an atlas, let alone move one small message forum to a new server. They get real pissy about that.

2. Don't tell them they can shove their site so far up their ass they'll be able to tickle it with their toothbrush. They get even pissier about that.

Ah, fuck it. It felt good at the time and at least I made my own copies of everything before the move was scheduled.

Seriously though, what is it about computers and site hosting that turns capable people into fuckwits? This was the first time I was dealing with a site host and I can bloody well see why so many people choose to stay on places like Diaryland.

Trust me folks, if you've ever feel like strangling Andrew because Diaryland is down when you want to update or because it chewed your entry (that you forgot to save before you hit the post button), take a deep breath and thank the good Lord above you don't have to deal with an obtuse site host.

Anyway, a few emails round people I know who have their own sites later, I come to the decision that I will just move somewhere where it doesn't take so long for a messageboard to load that you get a blasted time out message if you try to post between 9am and 5pm.

Of course matters, and my slowly encroaching headache, isn't helped by the fact Liz the loony is running round all over the internet posting that my board is down because of her...

Then again, it could be a possibility. She's on the site so damned much I wouldn't be surprised if she'd leeched bandwidth during the day....I mean we only had a couple of gigabytes a month....

I should have changed the 404 page. 'Sorry, you cannot post at the moment because Liz is out of the lunatic asylum this week and has been on this site, hitting the refresh button every minute, for 37 straight hours. She can't actually see the site any more since her eyes are bleeding from the strain but that's not going to stop her...'

Ah hell, I shouldn't rise to her really but since I know she's reading this I'll leave her with one final thought...

Betsey, I've moved the site to American servers. Know what that means? Well you know all those warning notices I put on the board warning members to be careful about what they posted since we were bound by UK libel laws?

Well those aren't going to be applicable any more thanks to the First Amendment. God Bless America because it'll be open season on your scaly ass if you come within a sniff of the place and I've got some great photographs I'm just itching to upload from the hard drive.

*smoochies*



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing