Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

08 October 2003

Getting Married The Easy Way

Dammit, I always thought making wedding plans would be a big deal.

Everybody else I know who's gotten married seemed to have spent months sorting out details and making arrangements.

I got everything planned in a night. I'm sure I'm bound to have overlooked something.

It's like Christmas. Some people start their Christmas shopping in July while I'm more of a 'second week of December' person and even then two trips into town sorts it all out.

Dammit, some people even keep wedding diaries relating the sagas of planning for their big days. I wouldn't even have enough for an update.

I mean we should have been hitting major problems right from the start. You've got a Northern Ireland Presbyterian marrying an English Roman Catholic (who's from a Southern Irish family).

Throw into the mix that neither of us are even Christians to begin with....

That's the sort of stuff nightmares are made of when it comes to wedding planning. We should have been having rows about who was going to convert to what and our families shouldn't be speaking to each other. Heh, another stereotype bites the dust there.

It's Dave's fault really. He was the one who said he wouldn't mind getting married in a particular church we'd visited in the Republic of Ireland. Actually it's a cathedral - just thought I'd add that for swank value.

Me? I love the place and the church has a special relevance for me. It's probably the only church I would get married in. Even better, since it's Church Of Ireland it's wonderfully symbolic of our two backgrounds meeting in the middle.

Getting married outside the UK isn't going to be a problem either. We got visit the town we want to get married in and just apply for the licence when we're there. I've already had a look online at hotels for the reception so that won't be a problem either.

Dress? Piece of piss really. I even found a design I like - in white! It's perfect and I won't be walking up the aisle like either a meringue or Morticia Adams.

So, all we need to do is save a bit of money and apply for the licence the next time we're down on holiday, set a date and chuck out a few invites.

Next time there's a local bridal fair I might just go along to gloat at everyone else ;)



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing