Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2001

Advertising Blues

At this point in time I could quite cheerfully strangle our manic cat Gypsy.

Yep, guess who's sitting at 5am in the morning doing a diary entry because the silly moggy decided she wanted to come in, instead of spending the rest of the night prowling around outside.

I dunno if I've mentioned this before, but Gypsy just bangs on the window of whatever room we're in when she decides that she wants to come inside. I swear we have spoilt that cat :-)

So, what can you do at 5 in the morning when you're too awake to sleep and too sleepy to do anything practical - yep, you got it, go and torture the internet.

Now here's something I've been pondering for the past couple of days; why does no-one ever write decent poems for obituary or memorial notices? I mean, it's alright if you can take the Christian option and quote a psalm or verse from the bible - but what about the rest of us?

I hate what I call 'dum-de-dum' sentimentality - you know, then entire Hallmark greeting card verse thing and yet I find it's my only option when I have to place these death/memorium notices in the newspaper.

One never really notices how awful the prose is when the original death notice is being posted because it's almost the first thing the undertaker sorts out, but a year later when the first anniversary memorium has to be posted you've got more time to notice small details like that.

I remember when I went to post my step-father's anniversary notice that I hadn't even considered the verse so there I was in the newspaper office flicking through a book trying to find something half decent, but only reading over-sentamentalised twaddle.

So, when I had to do it again for my friend this week I thought I'd try and find something a bit nicer. Phuff - all the bloody poetry I've read in my life and even a search on Google couldn't turn up anything decent.

Once again, it's trite verse time dammit.

One thing I have realised is how people hide behind these silly little verses. Nobody wants to expose themselves by saying something like: "In loving memory of the dear friend I've missed each and every day for the past year and still find myself crying over. There's a great big gap in my life now and I know it's never going to be filled again."

Na, it's easier to put in some charming little rhyming verse that almost makes you want to vomit with it's overbearing sweetness. It's easier, it's tidier, you don't have to bare your soul and, perhaps most importantly, you don't have to make everyone who reads it feel uncomfortable because 99 per cent of the human race are shallow idiots who'd run a mile when presented with any raw emotion.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing