Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

30 October 2005

Getting Engaged

Dear God I'm the ultimate procrastinator - and Dave's not much better. I mean we always knew we were going to get married, we've talked a lot about getting married, we even sorted out that it wouldn't actually be that difficult to get married, but we never seemed to push on with doing anything about it.

So we finally decided to get formally engaged in the summer. Suddenly it all goes from abstract planning, something we're going to get round to doing sometime, to something definite - something we are going to do.

Suddenly I'm not a girlfriend any more, I'm a fiancee and the strangest thing is that although I was certain it wasn't going to feel any different, it did.

Maybe it helps if I explain a little bit about the weird way we got together. Dave and I were in love before we ever met, at most we only got to spend a couple of weeks in each other's company before he packed up and left London to move over here and he moved straight in with me.

We never had the traditional dating rituals, I've never wondered if he was interested in me or if we were 'going steady'. It's been intense, it's been passionate and there's never been any doubt that we'd spend the rest of our lives together.

So I was kind of surprised how intense it felt when he popped that ring on my finger.

It's crazy - we've been living together for six years now and there's marriages that haven't even lasted that long, yet I feel we're making it official. I'm telling the world that I love this man, that I belong to him and making it clear there's never going to be another man in my life.

And, suddenly, the whole wedding business became much more important. Yeah, it's going to be a good day out and an excuse for a party; I get my chance to dress up like a princess and be the centre of attention, but it's all secondary to the fact we'll be making our vows to stay together for the rest of our lives.

As for the date itself....eurgh. September's going to work best for us, it's just a matter of deciding if we can do it September 2006 or 2007. The horribly shallow little part of me keeps whispering that if we wait that extra year we could put a bit more money past and have an even fancier do than we're planning.

Meantime I'll content myself with flashing my sapphire and diamond ring about. Heh, I thought we'd be looking for a ring for months since I'm the fussiest person on the planet and I don't actually like traditional engagement rings - diamond solitaires always struck me as being rather plain. As it was we found the perfect ring in the first jeweller's we popped into. It's three large pale blue sapphires in a dress setting, with four smaller diamonds in between each of the larger stones, very unusual and slightly gothic which suits me nicely, and once we've a firm date set I'll be sure to let you all know.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing