Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-08-20

Dinner For Two

Mmmmmm. Today was really nice. We'll ignore the fact I had to get up at 5.30 am and work an 11 hour shift and cut straight to the evening.

After collapsing into bed for 30 mins, both Sixy and myself tarted ourselves up and went out for the evening. We were both sick on our respective birthdays a few weeks ago, so we treated ourselves to a slap-up feed - or 'scran' if you're from this part of the world.

Oh boy have we found a brill place to eat. It's in a very small village and looks pretty run down from the outside, but the food is bloody fantastic.

But the nicest thing is, it actually gives us time to sit and chat. Now I know that seems stupid since we live together, but when we're at home the TV's on or one of us is on the 'pooter. We chat, but the only time we really talk is when we're in bed at night.

So from time to time, it's just nice to be out somewhere and do nothing but enjoy each other's company. Well, I enjoyed the company and Sixy enjoyed one of the best pints of Guinness you'll get this side of the Liffey.

Oh I am so looking forward to giving up full-time work in a few weeks. I've been taxi-driving for about three and a half years now and I'm really beginning to miss having a social life. It's going to be so nice just to mix with people on a regular basis again.

To be honest, if you're working anywhere between 70 and 90 hours a week (yes, it is possible to work a 90 hour week) you lose touch with your friends somewhat - and I miss it.

I mean, I don't even have decent clothes any more. Most of what I own is really only suitable for work - which means long and loose fitting. I don't think I've got anything I could wear to a nightclub. This is no good - middle age will come quickly enough without me pre-empting it.

Oh, I really have to do some work on this diary. It's time for a revamp again and I really want to do my links page out properly. I just don't have enough room on my profile for all the diaries I like to read.

That'll have to get in the queue behind taking the car to my mechanic, visiting the bank, finally cleaning this house, washing some clothes, filling out a grant application, talking to my accountant and breaking the bad news to our landlord that the drains are blocking again.

Can I have a couple of extra days in the week please?



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing