Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-08-16

One For The Birds

Something which has been niggling at the back of my mind lept forward and grabbed my attention tonight.....Fred, our cockatiel, is a Glaswegian.

Yep, he's a real 'see you Jimmy' and wouldn't look at all out of place in an episode of 'Rab C Nesbitt', although he'd probably have to play one of Rab's more intelligent drinking companions.

There's just something about the way he postures himself, sticks his head forward and glares at you when he's in a strop which screamed 'Sauciehall Street on a Saturday night' at me. I can envisage Fred staggering along with a bottle of Irn-Bru and a bag of chips.

Maybe that's why he bites Triple 6 and calms down when I come into the room. Sorry Sixy, but Fred just views you as a soft Englishman :-)

Oh it's weird. I never thought a bird could have much of a personality. I mean I knew Fred ever since my late friend bought him, but I never paid him that much attention and a cockatiel wouldn't have been my first choice of pet.

However, we've had him for the best part of a year now and I just can't help but love him. Even when he's screeching at the top of his voice until I can feel my eardrums vibrating. Thank God we live in a huge house and can stick him out of the way until he calms down.

My only regret is that he was never trained to come to anybody's hand and despite our best attempts to gain his confidence, he still won't come to us. Handling Fred is only possible with a pair of oven gloves, unless you want to lose chunks of your fingers. Must be that Glaswegian temperament.

Of course there's never been any question of what nationality Gypsy the cat is. She's English without a doubt. In fact it has been a long-running joke in our household that Gypsy bears a striking resemblance to Stuie the baby from 'Family Guy'.

It's the way she looks at you so calmly. It's freaky at times. We know she's just biding her time until she works out how to use the can-opener and then we're goners.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing