Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Thursday, Sept. 27, 2001

All Tyred Out

Ever feel like a complete div? Guess who managed to get a flat tyre on a really busy road in the middle of town today. Yeah. To make it worse, those bloody fancy alloy wheels I have meant that I had to just stop where I was. If I'd tried to get the car out of the way, I'd have wrecked about �100 worth of fancy wheel rim.

So there I was, not having much luck even getting the blasted spare tyre unscrewed when two kindly gentlemen stopped and came to my assistance.

Now there was part of me going: "Hey, I know how to change a tyre - I'm a taxi driver!". Thankfully this part of me was smothered by the bit saying: "Shut up woman, they're doing all the hard work."

So a massive thank-you to whoever my knights in shining armour were - they buggered off before I could give them a business card and tell them I'd do them a free cab ride any time they wanted.

Northern Ireland men aren't so bad after all :-)

The really embarrassing bit was when they took the wheel off....um, ok, I'm not always quick off the mark when it comes to getting worn tyres replaced. Put it this way, there would have been more tread on a baby's bottom.

Well, as I told the guy at the tyre place, it helps me get round corners quicker.

Oh, before I go, I'm now officially an undergraduate again - yippee! This is my last week as a full-time taxi-driver, although if my bloody local education authority don't pull their finger out I could be trying to fit a degree in around a sixty hour working week.

Registration was the usual shambles, the highlight of which was having my newly appointed studies advisor refer to Triple 6 as my 'faithful swain'. He's been called many a thing, but none of them ever sent him running off to find a dictionary before.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing