Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2000-12-29

The Joy Of Swearing

I think it's about time I proclaimed the joys of swearing. If there's one thing I can't stand, it's people who freak out if you decide to use some good ol' fashioned anglo-saxon to express your feelings.

It's just another sign of the hypocrisy of society that you could be the biggest, meanest piece of shit who ever walked the earth, but as long as you don't say

cunt in public you're ok.

Here's a class example. When I worked as a journalist, my editor once gave me a real telling off for saying 'fuck' in front of a 16 year old girl who was in the office on work experience.

Now, who was the worse person? Me for saying it or him, a married man with children to be doing it to one of the women who was working in the advertising department?

I hate censorship - it's evil and repugnant in any form, but what's really scary is that each and every day we censor not only ourselves but those around us. It's getting worse though.

Nowadays, words like damn or bloody aren't even socially acceptable. Shit, did the moral majority come in and take over the world one day when I wasn't looking?

It's about time we got our priorities right. Beating a child is bad; saying 'shit' in front of it will not harm it in any manner. Neither will using the word 'cunt' in front of a woman cause her to have a nervous breakdown.

If you don't like swearing, then you don't have to do it. However, no-one should get their underwear in a twist over anyone else doing it. Believe me, telling someone to clean up their language in front of you IS much ruder than swearing in the first place.

My primary school teacher was a born-again Christian and elder of his church who detested swearing, even though his high moral beliefs didn't stop him beating the shit out of kids between the ages of 8 and 11 years old (I know, I was there).

However, his theory on swearing was that only stupid people resorted to it because they weren't intelligent enough to express themselves properly.

Well, I've got a pretty high standard of English now and let me tell you, all the fanciest words in the world can't replace the raw emotion that a well-placed swear word can convey. Know what I mean?



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing