Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-01-08

Falling Down

Ever seen the Michael Douglas film 'Falling Down'? The one where he cracks up after taking all the crap we all seem to take in everyday life? Man, I could sympathise with that character soooo much.

However, since carrying out random acts of violence never seems to lead to a happy ending, I've come up with a better way to solve the problem. Just be rude as hell right back.

Be loud, be aggressive, be nasty, be noisy, but never be complacent.

Believe it or not, I'm not actually that hard a customer to please. I'm flexible, I can work with whoever is supplying the service I'm asking for and if a mistake is ever made I try to get it rectified without going off the deep end.

After all, everyone can make a mistake and I'm far from perfect.

What really winds me up though is when people are arrogant or overbearing. Today I went shopping with some discount vouchers. When I presented them at the till, the little cow doing the serving started going on as if I had just reached her a note saying I wanted to rob the place:

"Our rules have changed, you can only use a certain amount of them now. Here (she pulls back some stuff to reveal a sign stating this), we had a good will period when we let people off, but that finished last week."

As she stood there with her 'I defy you to complain, you stingy bitch' look, I was trying to tell her 'er, that's ok, I didn't know that, can I pay for my goods now'. Dammit, if she'd been a tad more civilised, I wouldn't have left the shop begrudging every penny I had spent and vowing to go to the branch in the next town in future.

Oh, that sort of thing isn't worth getting snotty about, but when someone is really rude to me, I just get really rude back. To hell with not making a spectacle, complain and complain loudly. It saves you going home and seething, which only ends up giving you ulcers.

Then, when someone (or some company) is doing their best for you and it's still going pear-shaped for them, you can keep smiling and say 'oh, it's alright'.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing