Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-02-19

The Tale of Bugs the Bunny

Picture the scene.....11.15 pm Sunday night and Edna is flying like a bat out of hell along the back roads from Belfast - well, doing about 80mph anyway.

Suddenly this bloody stupid rabbit decides it no longer wants to exist in this world and races out in front of me. I can't get stopped and so I do my best to steer around it.

Once I do get stopped, I turn around and head back, expecting to find rabbit stew on the road, or at best a badly injured animal which would require me using a very large tyre iron to put it out of it's misery.

However, the rabbit is sitting in the middle of the road. I pick it up and it isn't bleeding anywhere, but it isn't moving either.

And it was at that point I did something very stupid. I put it in the boot of my car.

Well, I had to be about 15 miles away in about five minutes, I couldn't figure out what to do since I didn't know if the damned rabbit had broken its legs or something, I felt responsible and I panicked.

Which is why there is now a very terrified wild rabbit cowering in one of our outhouses as I sit here typing this.

Dammit - it's the whole blackbird saga over again.

There doesn't seem to be any injury - I must have managed to take the car over it without hitting it (smugness on my part about my driving skills).

So what we're gonna do later on is pack the rabbit into the boot once again and drive all the way back to where I found it so we can let it go.

Man, I really hope that's the right thing to do.

I never should have read Watership Down as a child.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing