Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

Return Of The Lizards

So I've got a rare night off work and we decide to go to the cinema.

We're sitting with a huge box of popcorn, huge drinks, the lights dim, the screen lights up and I'm treated to one of the loveliest sights I could hope to see.....

No, not the film, the adverts - THE BUDWEISER LIZARDS ARE BACK!!!!!! Yep, there was Frankie and Louis in glorious technicolour completely taking the piss out of the dire 'Wassup' ad campaign.

I almost cheered, but people around the town know me too well and already think I'm weird enough as it is.

But three cheers to the Budweiser advertising team for realising what we really, really wanted was the return of the lizards.

Oh yeah, we watched a film as well - 'Bridget Jones' Diary'. It has been reviewed to death so I'll not go into detail, but you have to go and see it.

It has been a long time since I laughed out loud in the cinema and left feeling quite so good. Kevin Smith's 'Dogma' was the last movie to manage a similar effect.

Of course there was the added bonus that I was sitting beside the most wonderful bloke in the world (Dave) and could feel comfortably smug about Bridget's traumas in the world of singledom.

Mind you, being part of a couple can have its drawbacks as well....

When I was single, people used to keep asking 'no word of you settling down yet?' - this is a nice way of saying 'can't find a man, can you?'.

Then I started living in sin with Dave and the question became 'still with your man then?' - this is a nice way of saying 'hasn't he dumped you yet?'.

Now we've been together for more than two years the question is 'no word of you getting married yet?'. I take this to be a nice way of saying 'he mustn't respect you much if he hasn't put a ring on your finger yet, poor girl'.

But you know what? I'll bet any amount of hard currency you care to name that when we do do the dirty deed, the reception will hardly be over before someone starts asking 'no word of you starting a family yet?'.

Aaaaaaaagggggghhhhhhhh.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing