Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

24 June 2002

She who laughs last

The good you do returns threefold, the harm you do returns threefold.

Someone got the wrong end of the stick when I used that phrase a couple of weeks ago and went on a rant about 'Karma'. It's got nothing to do with karma I'm afraid - karma comes from middle-eastern religions while that phrase is Wiccan.

Anyway, I heard something tonight that made me smile. Actually it made me laugh my head off because at the bottom of it all I'm a pretty vindictive cow if someone crosses me.

My step-father died just over three years ago. It was a pretty shitty time seeing as it was the first time I'd suffered a close bereavement, but one thing made it even shittier.

The little bastard I was working for sacked me a couple of weeks after it happened.

It was the first and only time I've ever been sacked in my life.

Want to know what his reason was?

I took five days off work when my dad died.

Five lousy days.

The little cunt stood at my door and told me straight: "I need people who will put my business first, before their own personal problems."

That is word for word what he said.

Yeah, I was gutted. It was a damned hard blow, but I guess I'm a stronger person for it. I was driving company cabs at that time and couldn't get work anywhere else so I ended up borrowing quite a bit of money and putting my own cab on the road. It worked out well.

Too bad the little shit's taxi business isn't doing so well :-)

I found out tonight he's having to put the business up for sale. He hasn't the money to keep his precious little business going. Even better, his asking price is about twenty-two thousand pounds less than what he paid for it less than ten years ago.

Aww dear, he's gonna end up just being a plain old ordinary cabbie, just like me. Oh, wait, that's right, I'm quitting the taxi business next year once I graduate uni :-)

Yeah, I'm having the last laugh and I'm loving it.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing