Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

27 September 2002

Fence-sitting

Oh dear God, my back is total agony.

Looks like it's time for me to go visit my physiotherapist again because the only thing that's going to keep me at work this weekend is a strong dose of painkillers.

So I finally got sorted out with my final module today - here's one for all you people across the atlantic; I'm taking American literature.

I've read some of the American classics, but up until now it has been a bit of a gap in my knowledge since I've tended to concentrate on the English classics. Next semester I'm going to take the follow up American literature module and one on the Romantic poets which should pretty much sort me out with a good basic knowledge of all the major movements.

I say pretty much because would you believe it if I said the one area I haven't studied in any detail is Irish literature?

Seriously, I've avoided it like the plague apart from doing some Brian Friel during my A levels.

I think it's because so much of Irish literature is connected to the whole situation in this country (both North and South) and since I've got some pretty damned strong political views and beliefs myself I can't keep up the impartiality I need to study it properly.

Hmm, it's statements like that which keep getting me into trouble. I'm not supposed to think like that you know. I'm an educated and intelligent person therefore I'm supposed to have sopping wet liberal views.

Bollocks to that. I don't know how the liberals do it; I'm not a sitting on the fence type person - my ass would get splinters.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing