Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

15 November 2001

Proper English Like Wot We Spoke

I've been living with Dave for about four years, but even now there's times I still have a slight problem with his accent.

The thing is I'm Northern Ireland born and bred and although he doesn't have a strong cockney accent, there's still a London twang.

Some of it must be rubbing off onto me because I get customers in the cab asking me how long I lived in England for :-D Personally I like to think it's taking the slightly rough edge off my rather country-sounding accent.

I mean I say 'the top of the table' now instead of 'tap of the table' and the kitchen is the 'kitchen' instead of the 'scullery'. I can't even begin to spell how I pronounced 'walk' - something akin to 'wack' would be as close as I could get it.

Still I digress.

Last night in bed Dave was munching on a tube of Jelly Tots. Stop sniggering. So he's lying there looking at the tube and starts talking about the fancy design of the packaging:

"That's a very upmarket design, they used to have *mutter, mutter, mumble*"

OK - to be fair I did have my head stuck in a pillow.

Anyway I asked him what he said and got something about 'Eighties rapples'.

'Huh???? What are Eighties rapples?', I asked in my groggy state.

Half an hour later when he finally stopped laughing, he explained that what he really said was that Jelly Tots used to have little alphabet designs saying such things as 'A is for apples'.

He's now convinced that I either don't listen to a damned word he says or that I've got a major hearing problem.

Personally I think it's Karma. I'm getting payback for all those times I sat and silently seethed on the phone because some English customer services department was making me repeat everything five times before they could understand me.

I think it's time we signed up for his 'n' hers elocution lessons :-D



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing