Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

12 June 2003

Pubs and Nazis

So last Saturday night we decided to go have a drink after stuffing ourselves silly at the Chinese restaurant. It was only a short stroll down the street to our local Wetherspoon's so we went in there.

I really don't think I'll be going in again.

Firstly, it contained the biggest assortment of scum you could ever hope to meet. People who wouldn't get served in most of the other bars in the town. I saw quite a few people who I had point blank refused to lift in my cab when I was working, for one thing.

However, it was Dave who pointed out the most disturbing sight of the evening.

"Look beside you," he said. "That skinhead guy - look what he's wearing on his arm."

It was a swastika armband. There the bloke was, standing with a few of his mates, having a laugh and wearing a bloody swastika armband. To paraphrase Indiana Jones, I hate Nazis. I hate stupid fuckwits who think it's cool to wear something like that.

I also hate pubs that think it's alright to allow that sort of clientele to drink on their premises.

It's not as if there isn't security. Oh wait. The lugs who were guarding the door were all big burly skinheads as well. What a lovely establishment.

Now here's the kicker. I was relating this to my mum the following day and she told me that there had been a big write-up in our local newspaper that same week that Wetherspoon's have adopted a new policy of not allowing customers to swear.

It seems if you're heard swearing in a Wetherspoon's pub you'll be given a warning and if you swear a second time you'll be chucked out.

OK. Let's look at this again. It's alright to wear nazi regalia but if you say the word 'fuck' you're out?

Hello? Am I the only one who thinks this has to be the most stupid thing in the world ever?

Tell me what offends you more. Someone using a swearword or someone displaying the symbol of a regime that was responsible for the deaths of millions of people?

I've just got this to say to JD Wetherspoon's. Stick your cunting, fucking pubs up your arse and keep them there until you get your priorities straight.



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing