Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

13 June 2003

Five Questions From Trinity

In this entry I'm going to answer five questions posed to me by Trinity. The idea is that I answer these and then if anyone wants, I'll pose five questions for them. Leave me a message on my notes or guestbook if you want to take part.

I dunno if I'll come up with anything as good as Trin's though.

1. What's your favorite comfort food?

Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate. Nothing beats the sheer guilty pleasure of scoffing a bar of chocolate. It's been said that chocolate is a substitute for sex and that's sheer nonsense. Every woman knows sex is just a substitute for chocolate ;-)

2. Who's your favorite writer?

That's the hardest question of the lot. I love reading, I've always got a book within reach and I'll read anything from classic literature to trashy paperbacks. I suppose the one writer I always fall back on is Terry Pratchett, believe it or not. Not because of the quality of his writing but because no matter how stressed or depressed or upset I've ever been in my life I can lift one of his Discworld novels and just lose myself in the sheer silliness of them. If there's one writer I'd just like to say thanks to, it's him.

3. What are you going to do for a living after college?

Everybody assumed because I was doing English I was going to teach and I always vehmently denied I would because I was never happy at school and hated the teachers. The idea of going to work in such an environment repelled me. However, I was damned impressed by the lecturers I've had at university - they're a different breed altogether and I finally saw the difference a good teacher could make to their students.

So, I'm going to do this MA and I'm going to try my damnedest to go on and do the PhD because while I still never want to teach in a school I'd dearly like to lecture at a college and I do have the firm, albeit egotistical, belief that I can contribute to the field of literary criticism as well.

4. Who inspires you?

Any woman who's made it. I'm lucky in that my formative years were during the 80s when women were finally beginning to enjoy the benefits they fought so hard for during the 70s. It might also sound corny but my mother has inspired me a hell of a lot. Firstly she raised me to take it for granted that a woman could match a man in anything, and also never to be in the position where I was dependent on a man for my income.

She's a hell of a strong woman in some ways. I look back now and see that she wasn't much older than I am now when she found out she was pregnant with me - a pregnancy she shouldn't have had because her first pregnancy and birth had been very difficult. The doctors had to tell her straight that they would only be able to save one of us in the delivery room so she went into labour knowing she might die during it (and she was very close to death at one point) - yet both of us pulled through.

Bear in mind that during the fifth month of the pregnancy she was told her husband had less than a year left to live....I don't know many people who could go through that all and stay sane. I couldn't. She managed and she managed after my father died and she kept her family together. If there's any medals to be had, she sure as hell deserves one.

5. Are children in your future?

I honestly don't know. Part of me would like to have kids but I don't seem to have the overwhelming broodiness other women seem to get. It might have been different if I'd been with a man who really wanted kids but Dave's not that bothered about the idea either. At the very least I'd want to be financially secure before I had children and a big part of me stresses about whether or not I'd be a good mother anyway.

I can be a selfish person in many ways and a friend of mine pointed out many years ago that I could end up having a daughter who'd drop out of school, become a born-again Christian and get married at 19! I don't know if I could cope with something like that and since, in my mind anyway, the biggest part of being a parent is to accept your children unconditionally, I could turn out to be a terrible mum.

I think it'll happen if it's meant to and if it never happens I'll accept it. I'm a fatalist at heart and there's always plenty of homeless cats needing love and attention anyway ;-)



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing