Picture By Antonio Vargas

Blogwise - blog directory

The Meme List

2001-08-15

Twin Trouble

I'm really gonna have to be careful what I write about in this diary.....don't tell Andrew in case he puts the subscription rates up, but I think it has magical properties.

You scoff? Well why is it then that only a couple of days after I mention an ex-boyfriend who I haven't heard of in about four years it turns out that not only does a girl I work with know him - she was also speaking to him last Sunday?

Oh yeah, he had his wife and four kids with him as well. Gawd. I really didn't think he had it in him.......

The topic of having kids has been on my mind lately - no I'm not getting broody, I was just fascinated by that whole story about the surrogate mum who's having the court battle with the prospective parents.

Seems that they only wanted one kid and now she's pregnant with twins, they don't want to know.

Now am I just being simplistic here, but a childless couple who go to all the trouble of arranging and paying for a surrogate mother should surely have been ecstatic when they were told it was going to be twins?

Then again I'm the sort of person who can always be found loading up at the 'buy one, get one free' aisle of the supermarket.

I'll guarantee you one thing, there's going to be a couple of kids growing up with a whole heap of complexes. Maybe some lawyer should already start suing the biological parents to set up a trust fund to pay for all the therapy they're going to need as adults?



Stale Fresh

You call me a bitch like it's a bad thing